Current time: 08-23-2017, 18:26 PM
How To? make my MyBB Forum show up on Google Search or other Search Engines ?
07-14-2012, 09:19 AM
make my MyBB Forum show up on Google Search or other Search Engines ?
Hi guys,

i realize that there are many many many posts about this sorta thing. I have read through some of them, but I got overwhelmed about the many things in there. I admit, I am not good with text instructions. I switched recently from vBulletin to MyBB.

On my previous vB board, I didn't had to worry about these things. All the search bots came as soon as the forum was running. I didn't had to worry about sitemap.xml or robots.txt, things worked fine without me needing to do anything in that regard.

However, now with MyBB i am lost and don't know what to do. Seems so many things to do, and I dont really get how.

What I have done so far.

- installed Google SEO plugin (no errors shown, should be ok)
- installed (just in case) the Sitemap generator plugin
- created a Google Webmaster Account and added my site

Things i never had to do before, and I had plenty of different forums over the years. From SMF, phpBB, vB, IPB etc. and I never had to worry about Search engines coming to my site. Until now. Sad

If someone could create the absolutel noob instructions for me how to proceed so the Search Engines pick up on my forum and that it shows up when someone searches for it, for example on Google, I would really greatly appreciate that.

As additional information I might add that my forum is in a subfolder of my domain and that a index.php in the domain's root folder is forwarding to that subfolder (not subdomain though!).

I just need some help to get that going. How come things like that must be done so "manually" in MyBB compared to other Softwares like vBulletin.

Thanks in advance. Sorry for being so noob. Sad

Wolfseye

Namecheap.com

07-14-2012, 13:56 PM
RE: make my MyBB Forum show up on Google Search or other Search Engines ?